Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

But she's allergic to everything!
January 17, 2014 6:57 PM   Subscribe

I need recipes that a highly allergic friend can eat. No nuts, eggs, corn, chick peas, tomatoes or shellfish.

I'd like recipes that are toddler-friendly so that our families can all partake, but any ideas appreciated. I'm a decent cook, and specialty items aren't a problem. Any recipe sites that are great for this? Thanks!
posted by cestmoi15 to Food & Drink (14 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

That actually doesn't seem like a difficult list to me -- I promise you, that is genuinely so far from "allergic to everything" I can't imagine there would be a recipe site for it. Probably 65% of the food we make routinely would fit your bill. Mushroom risotto? Roasted chicken? Gourmet burgers? Bangers and mash? Roast beef and Yorkshire pud?

If you're looking for something special to make rather than a routine mid-week meal, however, I highly recommend individual Beef Wellingtons and pan fried garlic cabbage (use Savoy cabbage or use Brussel sprouts, both are amazing cooked this way and I say this as someone who likes neither.)
posted by DarlingBri at 7:12 PM on January 17 [1 favorite]

for toddler-friendly -- make meatloaf, substituting full-fat greek yogurt for the eggs. Instead of a ketchup glaze, wrap it in bacon before you cook it.
posted by KathrynT at 7:24 PM on January 17 [1 favorite]

Thanks. Not to thread sit, but I guess I should have included that I'm vegetarian, so this isn't intuitive for me, although I'm glad this isn't as hard as I'm making it.
posted by cestmoi15 at 7:29 PM on January 17

Chocolate covered bacon! Something with a white sauce. Kale chips! Homemade French fries!
posted by oceanjesse at 7:30 PM on January 17

[or just chocolate covered chocolate]
posted by oceanjesse at 7:30 PM on January 17 [1 favorite]