Not to be negative, but.
January 13, 2014 6:48 PM   Subscribe

I'm interviewing for a job that is the exact same job as my current job but at a different location with a different boss. So it will be instantly clear that the reason I want to make the change is unhappiness (which is true), and the red problem flags will be up from the start. How can I answer the forthcoming "why do you want to leave" question with grace?

I currently work as a clerk for a court that is interconnected with a bunch of other courts in our region. In the past six months, my relationship with my supervisor has taken a big downturn. She has become a micromanager, petty -- i.e. nasty to one of us and in turn supersweet to everyone else at any given time, which is offputting even when you aren't the current walking target -- and prone to sitting in her office texting or making travel plans while the rest of the staff is out running around during busy times (which I know is de rigueur for bosses, but her desk is in full view, so it's extra irksome that she has no shame about it). She has been a friend to me in the past and she acknowledges in calmer moments that sometimes she lets her temper get the best of her. I understand that, but it makes for miserable working conditions. So I want out.

I applied for a position at another court in the area. It's the same exact position and has the exact same level, pay, daily duties, and possibility of advancement. It's only five minutes away from my current job, so I can't use the "it's more convenient" excuse. The only difference is that I'll be working for different people.