Join 3,434 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

The restaurant self-identifies as Cantonese, but I don't know...
January 11, 2014 2:16 AM   Subscribe

The dish at a faraway hole-in the wall Chinese restaurant was titled "egg fried soft noodles".

I don't know how to identify these noodles, but other noodles were titled "chow mein-egg noodles", so these noodles in question should not be the standard egg noodles, right? The restaurant self-identifies as Cantonese, but they also serve hot dogs and hamburgers. They probably aren't the most authentic.

What kind of noodles would I have to buy, and what would I have to do to cook this at home?

It had quite a fair amount of egg in it which I liked. But had like 3 stir fried book choy leaves stirred in along with some good sized pieces of white onions.

Sorry about the shitty picture. I once promised myself that I'd only take pictures of half eaten food to prevent myself from believing I'm a good photographer. But honestly, this was because I had forgotten to take a picture till I was damn near finished.
posted by hal_c_on to Food & Drink (8 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

They kind of look like the rice vermicelli that I get in Singapore Noodles
posted by FreezBoy at 3:05 AM on January 11

Afaik, the rice noodles don't have any egg at all, so it wouldn't be those.

Unless you saw the chow mein noodles and they looked different, they may have just been the same. It may have just been a naming convention. But there is a chance they are thicker and perhaps that's why there's a discrepancy between the two dishes.

They may be non standard in that they're thinner. They're probably something like thin egg noodles-- youmian. Something like this probably. Any asian grocers should have thin egg noodles like this available.
posted by Dimes at 3:30 AM on January 11