Exiting Academia
January 2, 2014 6:31 PM   Subscribe

I just finished up my third semester of a PhD program in information studies. There are parts I like, but as I get deeper into it I'm beginning to realize that those aren't in the majority to the parts I dislike. I have a masters in Library and Information Science and have been keeping an eye on job openings and it seems like there are a number that I would be a great fit for. I'm remembering how much I liked the job when I was in it, and I'd like to exit academia before sinking too much time into it. However, my GAship is providing a steady salary and health benefits. How do I do this in a way that works out well for both me and my adviser?

Additional details:
  • I believe that I'm funded on a contract for the rest of this year, but I don't know how realistic it would be for my adviser to keep me around if I'm not going to finish. I've been with the project for a while, and it seems like there are reasons to keep me around for consistency, but I'm not 100% sure.
  • My adviser expressed disappointment in my performance this past semester. I got everything done, but definitely didn't excel at anything. I agree with his disappointment, and I think this is an expression of my overall dissatisfaction with the academic life.
  • The reason that I dislike academia is mainly that I see how busy and hectic the tenure track is, and unfortunately this is the BEST case scenario. Worst case is that I graduate and go into adjunct hell in perpetuity, or get an extremely low paying post doc while having a steadily aging car that I can't afford major work on, student loan repayment, and being at the whim of the job market when all of my friends and family are here. I hate the financial insecurity, and was able to tough it out for my master's and thus far in my PhD, but the thought of 2 more years in dissertation work and then possibly 2-3 more years in job searching makes me incredibly depressed.