Financial Planning Advice for a Financially Clueless Expat
November 5, 2013 7:12 AM   Subscribe

I am a 29 year old American expat, living and working abroad in BRICs for nearly 6 years now, who needs help in getting my financial act together. Due to limitations of my company- I have not been able to contribute to a 401(k) for at least five years now, and in the last few years my salary has exceeded $135k/year, so I can't even contribute to a Roth IRA. As far as I can understand, there isn't really anything more in the basic United States system for retirement that I can take advantage of… so now what? Am I really on my own now? Are there any websites with info geared towards this? Or should I get a financial/wealth planner? Or an "expat" tax accountant? Or both? How do I even start to find one? I have no idea what to look for!

I studied at an engineering school, and as one can stereotypically assume had a very narrow range of studies- I never took ANY basic accounting or finance courses so am financially clueless. I come from a working class non-native English speaking family background, so my parents are clueless when it comes to investment and are stubbornly cash-only people.

Even with that, thanks to being a cheapskate in my early years out of college:

- $0 student loans
- $0 car loans; I don't have a car
- $0 credit card debit
- $300k left to payoff on a $400k mortgage; interest rate at 4.9%
- ~ $200,000 in low index mutual funds with Vanguard. Around 85% in stocks and the rest in low risk investments <-- based off of the internet, this has been strategy for now but there has to be something more than just throwing EVERYTHING here
- ~$50k in savings as emergency funds