Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How did you know when to go?
August 6, 2013 7:14 AM   Subscribe

When and how did you decide to stay at or leave a job you kinda liked and an employer you'd been at for a long time? Is it good to stay or have I been here too long? That's the situation I am in. I feel like I'm stuck, but I also feel like I'd be giving up a good thing. What can I do to help decide?

Hivemind, you've helped me with a cross-country move, with deciding to move, with my car's transmission, and with my student loans. Thank you for that. Here's one more quandary which seems more like "hey, that's life."

I've been at my current employer (a large IT-themed company) for well over ten years, though in slightly different roles for 2-3 years each. I work in IT, but not programming, and I've kept reasonably up-to-date on things outside just my employer's scope. My basic worry is whether I have been here too long. My entire method of work is based, in large part, around how my employer does things. For example, I troubleshoot problems using its in-house database and I have access to the people who wrote or are experts in its products. If I left to go to another company, presumably working on those same products, I wouldn't have that structure. By that standard, it's "safe" and "reasonable" to stay here. On the other hand, am I essentially working my way out of being able to be anywhere but here, even if "here" does have lots of internal opportunities?