Skip

Wine and Cheese etiquette
September 25, 2005 7:30 PM   Subscribe

I have been cordially invited to an informal wine and cheese party.

I'm a new grad student, and I received an email the other day from one of my professors cordially inviting me (and a guest!) to said wine and cheese party, taking place at his and his wife's house.

My question is this. What should I bring? It's described as "informal", so I doubt I need to dress in full-on evening wear. So I'm not too concerned about that. But should I bring a bottle of wine along? Should I bring any sort of gift?
posted by vernondalhart to Society & Culture (40 answers total)

As an afterthought, am I supposed to reply to the email? It didn't request an RSVP, and it was emailed out to a list of students, not just myself.
posted by vernondalhart at 7:32 PM on September 25, 2005

Sure, reply to the email, something like, "Dear Esteemed Professor, thanks! Can I bring anything?"
posted by gleuschk at 7:40 PM on September 25, 2005

When in doubt, a decent bottle of wine, a good cheese, or a tasty dessert are welcome at just about any party.

But, yeah, just reply and ask what you can bring. Easy enough!
posted by Dr. Wu at 7:44 PM on September 25, 2005

If you bring a bottle of wine, then the worst that can happen is they don't find it up to their standards, in which case they'll say politely say thank you and, taste aside, think you're a considerate person. If you don't bring wine, they might think that you're an inconsiderate person. It's hard to tell what other people's expectations of other people are. Therefore, I'd err on the side of being too considerate, and if you're the only person who brought wine, so be it.

Also, what gleuschk is probably the best way to go about it. And I'd only not bring something if they absolutely insisted on it. Otherwise, even if they say something like, "it's not necessary," I'd still bring a gift.
posted by billysumday at 7:44 PM on September 25, 2005