Join 3,425 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Would grad school be a good way to relocate?
July 5, 2013 11:24 AM   Subscribe

With a strong desire to live in NY or LA and having trouble finding work that will get me out there, if grad school is a partial-to-fully-subsidised option, would it be worth while to relocate for?

I want to write for TV or work in the TV/Film industry in some capacity. This has been a long term goal of mine for over a decade now, though I have always felt like I have been moving in the wrong direction.

I finished my undergrad degree about 3 years ago (unconventionally at the age of 28) and immediately did PA work on two features before the work more or less dried up here in Austin. Since those two films all I have done is day played on a reality show and not much else.

I know I need to be in LA or NY. I have never been to LA and recently won a trip to NY and thought it was pretty great, though I was only there for two days.

Relocating seems far off because of my current financial situation, however my dad is retired military and has said that he can transfer his GI bill that he never used to me for grad school. I think it would cover most cost, there may or may not be a stipened, and if I need to, I have no problem working (worked my way through school once before). If I were accepted in to a school I am sure I could find financial help from family to get to the new location.

The programs in NY and LA both seem to offer a greater ability to network and get internships in industry than the poor luck I am having now, but it also feels like a big risk. I feel like I am teetering between making this big move by any means neccesary (though those means seem limited) or giving up on my dream all together.