Join 3,553 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How can I learn to grocery shop and cook on a college budget?
June 17, 2013 9:49 AM   Subscribe

I'm going into my senior year college and have relied on a fraternity meal plan and eating out often. What should I be buying at the grocery store regularly, and what are some quick and healthy meals to make regularly?

I'm a college student interning in Washington, D.C., and am trying to survive on a smallish budget. I'm lucky enough to have a paid internship, but I've learned that eating out for lunch/dinner daily can add up quick. In college, I've been on my fraternity's meal plan, and even when my dorm room had a kitchen, I pretty much stopped and started with scrambled eggs.

I know D.C. has great restaurants and I'm not opposed to eating out once or twice a week - but it's starting to get taxing, especially if there's any other things I want to do while I'm here. The house I'm living in has a kitchen and my landlord will occasionally offer me leftovers, but I don't want to be dependent.

I'm a bit overweight, so I'd like to focus on healthy recipes - ideally paleo - but frankly any home-cooking is better for me than restaurant food or fast food on a daily basis.

I know there's been threads on AskMeFi about this before, but most seem to have a specific angle that doesn't apply to me (veganism, cooking for a family), and I'm more interested on starting from square one, especially being on a budget.

Any help's appreciated, thanks hive mind!
posted by seandq to Food & Drink (29 answers total) 54 users marked this as a favorite

Get some good tupperware and ziploc bags and learn to make use of leftovers.

I'm frugal rather than poor but my wife and I get six meals out of a broiler chicken. Breasts one day, Legs the next. Sandwiches from stripping the carcass. (I also make soup or stock with the bones / carcases that I collect in a freezer bag). That is from a $6 or less chicken.