Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Male masturbation and using lube
June 8, 2013 9:53 AM   Subscribe

I honestly don't know this, and almost none of the men that I know are circumcized, so I wouldn't know who to ask in person. Is it generally so that lube is more needed/vital/ important/whathaveyou for masturbation if one is a male who is circumcized?

I could imagine this being true, but I don't own a penis, so I'm no expert. Can anyone tell me whether this is so?
posted by Too-Ticky to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Of the two circumcised men I've been close enough with to know of their masturbatory habits, neither used lube routinely in their solo sessions. Both said they didn't really need it so it wasn't worth the trouble.
posted by Serene Empress Dork at 9:58 AM on June 8, 2013

Is it generally so that lube is more needed/vital/important/whathaveyou for masturbation if one is a male who is circumcized?

No, not at all.
posted by FAMOUS MONSTER at 9:59 AM on June 8, 2013

Not at all. US popular culture has led me to discover that masturbation even (apparently) needs lube at all. It's not something I had ever heard of until then. With a sex toy? Yes, but I do not understand why you'd need lube for everything you were supplied with as standard equipment. It makes no sense to me.
posted by Brockles at 10:11 AM on June 8, 2013

It's true that men get more out of the addition of lube to manual stimulation, at least in my experience, but they don't necessarily need it and often do not use it.
posted by the young rope-rider at 10:11 AM on June 8, 2013

Generally, yes. Lubrication is generally more necessary for the circumcised, in that it's generally not at all necessary for uncircumcised penises, and sometimes somewhat necessary for some circumcised ones. But: