Skip

But it just looks so shiny
June 4, 2013 4:19 AM   Subscribe

I need a new phone. I also want to start getting into filmmaking. I happened to stumble across the Nokia 808 Pureview, which looks like it covers both criteria, and is pretty awesome to boot! But my more tech-savvy friend said that the phone itself wasn't great, and I might as well get a separate phone and camera. You may assume (quite rightly) that I have next to no knowledge of technology. Please advise this total noob on what to get :)

I'd pretty much be using the phone for SMS, calls, Facebooking, and that really addictive Candy Crush game. My friend said that once I get a smartphone I'll definitely end up getting into more of its capabilities, so I'll want something top-end like the Galaxy S4. Is this true?

As for filming, I know the best thing for me to start is to mess around with a cheap camera (even the one on a smartphone), but the perfectionist in me wants to invest in a really good camera, so I only have to buy something once. If I end up making short films I want them to have a cinematic feel and be of the highest quality possible. But unfortunately, my limited student budget won't be able to afford much. I don't know, am I just jumping the gun here?

TL;DR I felt like the Nokia 808 combination of great camera + workable smartphone was perfect for me (and it's pretty cheap too). But if it's advisable to get separate gadgets, what what would you recommend I buy? (For cameras my budget would be <$500).

I'm in Australia, if that changes anything.
posted by cucumber patch to Technology (10 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

If you want to get into film-making, then you do it by making films with whatever you have to hand, not by obsessing over technological choices.