Join 3,501 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What is the meaning of this video "What is psychoanalysis"?
May 28, 2013 1:18 PM   Subscribe

The blurb for the video "What is Psychoanalysis?" on this website claims that it "tries to show visually some essential components of the psychoanalytic process including the analytic function, transference, dreams, repetitions and the Oedipal conflict". Can someone point out at which points in the video these things are shown and by which images they are represented?
posted by fries to Health & Fitness (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I've been watching this question hoping someone a lot more experienced than I would pop in. Alas. I'm in my first year studying psychoanalysis so please take anything I say with a huge grain of salt.

Off the top of my head:

The infamous couch is a function in psychoanalysis that allows a reclining patient to more freely associate because he's not focused on posture, or the analyst's facial expressions, or a fly on the wall. Reclining is supposed to also trigger feelings of (a good) vulnerability, and allows him to focus on his inner thoughts as opposed to the exterior world. However, most people feel uncomfortable reclining at first - partly because it's a bit clichéd at this point and partly because lying supine makes us feel unprotected, which is why the couch turns into a spiky, scary monster-thing that looks like it might eat the guy alive.

The part about dream analysis is when he's recounting a jumble of confusing images, symbols and letters. The analyst says, "A?" which turns out to be the missing piece that forms the word DREAM, suggesting that an good analyst is able to piece together the weird surreality of a dreamscape to find the kernels of truth or raw emotions that drive them.