Join 3,376 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Give me advice on my job search in the NYC area.
March 16, 2013 6:37 PM   Subscribe

I'm a librarian in the southern U.S. looking to relocate to NYC. The catch is that I can't move without a job offer. Am I hoping for the impossible?

About me: I'm currently a professional librarian in the southern United States. I have management, reference, instruction, and interlibrary loan experience, mostly in a public library setting. My references are great (really) and I've got about a decade of experience under my belt. Currently I'm a mid-level manager at a public library system in a smallish southern city.

What I'm looking for: Ideally an academic position paying at least somewhere in the mid-40s in the greater NYC area. (I'm not opposed to staying in public librarianship, but it doesn't seem to pay a living wage in NYC.) I realize that I'm facing an uphill battle, especially since I'm trying to make the switch to academic librarianship while also breaking into one of the most competitive markets in the country.

I guess my question is this: Am I delusional? Is it even possible to land a library job while I'm so far away from the metro area? I recently had a phone interview with an academic library in New England, which is where I grew up, so I wouldn't *hate* going back there, but I'd really like to be in NYC. But am I expecting too much?

My experience is great, I'm well-rounded and extremely employable. But I fear that hiring committees aren't even considering me because I'm from out of town. I know the competition is stiff, to say the least.

Should I be focusing on finding a position up north in a less competitive area and doing time for a couple years before I make the move to the city? Or do I continue to hold out hope? I've been looking since October, and I recently turned 40. I also had a near-death experience this year which made me realize that I wasn't living the life I want to live, if that matters.