Skip

Aloof filter: how to re-engage yourself when you feel distant
March 12, 2013 7:53 PM   Subscribe

How do you keep open, light-hearted and accessible when you feel yourself closing off?

Typically I'm pretty sociable and enjoy other folks, but recently I've realized that I'll sink into aloofness about 1/3rd to 1/2 of the time. It seems that everyone has a balance they must strike, but this particular kind of aloofness is not "I need me time," but rather "I feel prickly and can't get unprickly!" Anyone have any aloofness hacks? I'm still learning how to deal with some of my mood-emotion swings in general, and am trying to gather good transition and self-soothing strategies, if that makes sense.
posted by elephantsvanish to Human Relations (5 answers total) 21 users marked this as a favorite

It depends on why I am feeling prickly. Sometimes, I just need more sleep. I figured out a long time ago that being prickly meant some need was unmet. Often, a snack, a drink and some rest resolved it.
posted by Michele in California at 8:11 PM on March 12, 2013 [2 favorites]

If I'm feeling prickly and I know I should have had enough me-time (which I do, admittedly, need a lot of), it frequently means I'm hungry or tired. I'm way better at being light-hearted and accessible when I'm well-fed and well-rested.
posted by tan_coul at 11:19 PM on March 12, 2013

Identify your triggers. I forgot where I picked this up, but I remind myself of H.A.L.T. = Hungry Angry Lonely Tired. (Or SHALTS, apparently, which adds "Sick" and "Stressed".)

When I'm turning into a crankypants, I ask myself if I'm any of the above. I usually have a Kit Kat or mug of chocolate milk, then I feel much better. If possible, I follow this with a nap.

I noticed that being on the Internet for too long leaves me feeling spaced out and detached, like my life is meaningless and I hate the world, it is a farce.

Get off the computer sometimes.
posted by pimli at 3:29 AM on March 13, 2013 [5 favorites]