How can my wife start networking for real estate leads?
February 20, 2013 11:48 AM   Subscribe

My wife is a new RE agent in the L.A. area and is looking for ways to meet people who may be interested in buying/selling a home. Does the community have any ideas on how she can go out and meet this group of people, network with them, and start to generate leads? Thanks.
posted by mistermc to Work & Money (10 answers total)

Way back in time when we bought our first house, we found our agent when she gave a talk for first-time home buyers. Now, these days I probably wouldn't recommend someone find a real estate agent that way, but it probably does work to some extent. At least the audience there is already primed to be in the market. Without being an expert, my guess is that it will be easier to find buyer clients than seller clients at first.
posted by primethyme at 11:58 AM on February 20, 2013 [1 favorite]

A realtor who had sold a house in our old neighborhood left a leaflet in everyone else's mailbox: "I just sold XYZ house - call me if you're interested in selling." We did (a few months later) and she was awesome.

When we bought our home in TN, I went by word-of-mouth for a recommendation. After we closed on our place, we wound up on our TN realtor's mailing list. I don't think a month went by that we don't get some clever direct-mail-type tchotchke from her. Even our little kids recognized her name when the doodads showed up in the mailbox. Guess we who just called to list our place? It sounds cheezy and all that, but it's not like we're inundated with mailings from realtors. Just her. And it seems to work.
posted by jquinby at 12:14 PM on February 20, 2013