Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Why is my MacBook losing hard drive space so fast?
February 11, 2013 4:17 PM   Subscribe

Lately I have noticed that my MacBook (5 years old) seems to be losing hard drive space without me adding any additional files to it. What's going on?

I know that the amount of available space was down to dangerously low levels (~125 MB) so I cleared out a bunch of stuff and got it back up to 5.19 GB. Now it is down to 4.25 and in fact dropped from 4.75 to 4.25 a couple of minutes ago. What's going on? Could there be some sort of background program that's making it lose space? Obviously, I am a computer noob. Thank you.
posted by mlle valentine to Technology (16 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

It's virtual memory. Your computer uses some of its hard drive space for swapping less-used things from RAM.

Also, some applications have caches that will take up space as you use them.

You should also clear up more hard drive space than 5GB.
posted by MonsieurBon at 4:31 PM on February 11, 2013 [1 favorite]

I guess I just don't understand why the memory has gone down recently (over the last few weeks, and especially very steeply just now) when I don't think it did before. I have not recently downloaded anything to my computer, or started using any new applications.

I am working on clearing out more space.
posted by mlle valentine at 4:41 PM on February 11, 2013

Check your log files. My wifes laptop had some issue with the time machine backup failing and it was writing to the error log ever few seconds for...well weeks....which ended up leaving a HUGE log file. Rebooted to fix the error...cleared the log and had a ton of space back.

Also check out Disk Inventory X it will show you a graphical representation of your files based on size so you can see what is taking up the most space.
posted by Captain_Science at 4:50 PM on February 11, 2013 [1 favorite]