Join 3,439 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Master's in Developmental Psychology at full price
January 24, 2013 7:59 AM   Subscribe

Convince me not to get a Master's degree. I'm looking into a program at Columbia which would be at full price, which is not cheap. I'd like you to convince me not to attend, or tell me why it's a good idea after all.

1. I love psychology and have for years. My dream has been a PhD in Clinical Psychology, doing research. I have no research experience or upper-level psychology, though, so applying to PhD programs isn't possible.

2. Even if I stop at the Master's, I think it would be helpful in marketing myself in other contexts. I live in NYC and have long been planning a consulting business for parents, the details are a trade secret, but a master's from a prestigious school would boost my credibility enormously.

3. My job now is fine, but I'm dying of boredom and it has no long-term viability as a career.

4. I have no idea what the job market is like for this degree, and Master's degrees in general don't add to earning power.

5. I could cobble together classes at a CUNY for cheaper and boost my PhD chances that way, but the bureaucracy and scheduling challenges have stymied my attempts at it for years at this point. I think I need a more structured program. On the other hand, it's almost 5 times cheaper.

6. Childcare is a fixed cost for 4 more years or so, but his father can now budget so that he is covering it all himself and is willing to do so. His employment is stable.

Thoughts?
posted by Rock 'em Sock 'em to Education (21 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

You already have your reason not to right here: 4. I have no idea what the job market is like for this degree, and Master's degrees in general don't add to earning power.

Going into potentially six figures of debt because you are bored at your current job? Really?
posted by elizardbits at 8:05 AM on January 24, 2013 [11 favorites]