Skip

Ça me manque depuis 15 ans
January 22, 2013 5:31 PM   Subscribe

Teach me how to make Cancoillotte cheese from things I can buy in an American supermarket or (unlikely) where to buy it for shipment to the USA (Nebraska).

Back in college, I studied for a semester in Besançon, Franche-Comté, France. Among my fond food memories are a couple of cheeses: Comté, which is readily available in a couple of local stores, and Cancoillotte which is not.

Google has explained to me that milk is made into metton and that metton is made into Cancoillotte by melting with butter and liquid such as white wine or water, but I'm quite unclear about how metton is made and I never saw or handled any while in France to know what it is. (In English, wikipedia calls metton 'runny' but cites a French description which says it has a 'pâte dure' which sounds anything but… it is Cancoillotte which is runny)

You may assume I do OK in the kitchen (including very limited experience helping make yogurt once or twice), but please do not assume I can read a recipe in French to save my life.
posted by jepler to Food & Drink (12 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

You can order it here for shipment to the US.

I couldn't figure out for the life of me what "metton" was and all the French recipes I saw started with buying it, so no insight there. Everyone seems to melt or soak the metton as the first step of the French recipes, so it may well be dure.
posted by Sidhedevil at 5:43 PM on January 22, 2013

Have you ever made cheese before? I'd start with ricotta or chevre and see if you enjoy it.

Most of the interesting French cheeses depend a lot on specific local bacteria to taste the way they taste. If it's even possible to recreate what you want, it's certainly not an entry level thing.