Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

It has been fifteen years. I can't laugh it off.
January 10, 2013 7:58 PM   Subscribe

I teach and I have a nervous laugh. I cannot get rid of it.

I teach in higher ed and have been doing public speaking for fifteen years in some capacity or another. I am usually described as a dynamic teacher, but I always laugh. Always. I have a nervous laugh and I laugh after a lot of the things I say. I have worked on this for as long as I have been doing school (in various capacities.)

I have been told to be more mindful. As a teacher, I can't really be any more mindful than I am as I present my work and/or lead activities.

I have tried repeatedly to meditate (Mindfulness in Plain English). I have never been successful.

I am not uncomfortable in front of students. I have taught high school with less receptive audiences and done well.

I do this in my personal life as well and people seem to get annoyed by this. So I have no clue how to stop. Any ideas?
posted by anonymous to Human Relations (11 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I used to say "um" when I spoke publicly, and one thing that helped me was videotaping myself while I spoke publicly. I think that watching the video triggered some embarrassment circuits, or something, that made me more motivated to be mindful.

Another strategy that helped my friend who had a tic was to set small goals. "Don't nervously laugh in the next hour" "... in the next 3 hours" "... in the next day" etc. Over time he could go longer and longer periods without doing it.

Or just accept this quirky and beautiful feature about yourself! Because you are human and nobody's perfect. But that's not what you asked.
posted by kellybird at 8:08 PM on January 10, 2013

Work with a speech and presentation coach.

More woo-woo option: hypnosis.
posted by Sidhedevil at 8:11 PM on January 10, 2013