Join 3,374 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Simple home workout routine?
January 8, 2013 11:27 AM   Subscribe

I'm adding dumbells to my elliptical and I'm looking for a reasonable home workout routine that I can use as a guideline.

I've been using my elliptical religiously for about two months now, and I'm ready to add some weight training to my 'get healthy' routine. I don't need to be ripped or anything, I'm in my mid-thirties and I just want to get healthier.

I ordered a set of selectable dumbbells, but I don't have a bench. Is there a simple four or five day per week routine that I can use to add these in to the cardio work I'm already doing?

This seems like a job for Google, but most routines that I turn up are billed as 'get ripped in eight weeks' nonsense or P90X-level hyperworkouts. I could use a little more guidance than that.

Cheers!
posted by WinnipegDragon to Health & Fitness (14 answers total) 36 users marked this as a favorite

The Stumptuous 'less thinking more doing starter program.
posted by rmd1023 at 11:31 AM on January 8, 2013

rmd1023, that workout still requires a bench (it is a good link though).
posted by atrazine at 11:39 AM on January 8, 2013

Sorry - you're right. I know you can do bent-over dumbbell rows using a chair rather than a bench, but that won't work quite as well for a chest press.
posted by rmd1023 at 11:42 AM on January 8, 2013

I know some people lean towards heavier weights, but I like the videos at Tone It Up.
posted by hrj at 11:50 AM on January 8, 2013

You can modify a lot of the "ripped" workouts to suit your needs rather than following their "work out like a crazy person 24/7" directions.

For example you can pick a few of the more interesting p90x videos and just do those a few times a week to the best of your ability (they have suggestions for modifying most exercises for people with lower fitness). I find them fairly balanced, and you can always skip/replace any exercises you don't like.