My bazaar doesn't need your cathedral
January 7, 2013 3:39 AM   Subscribe

Help me understand the essence of The Cathedral and the Bazaar in order to apply the understanding to an entirely different scenario where there is a struggle between top down and bottom up design. I have no programming knowledge after BASIC on DOS 1.0

I believe there's a valuable message in this essay (and subsequent book) which can be related to other areas where there is an inherent conflict between top down and bottom up design.

However, beyond being able to see and acknowledge this value, especially based on the simplified guidelines in the wikipedia page, I fear I'm getting tangled up in the specificities of programming and its needs and thus unable to extract or wholly understand the key insights or essence of the tale.

tl;dr I can't write about it (as a narrative) relating to a wholly different scenario (say, design for poor farmers for eg) without understanding it well enough. Pointers to other reading on this material or key chapters would also be gratefully appreciated.
posted by infini to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I am not convinced that in The Cathedral and the Bazaar Eric Raymond proposes any single unifying theory that adequately explains all of his guidelines for creating good open source software, but one possible generalization of The Cathedral and the Bazaar to other fields is the concept of the wisdom of the crowd. If that sounds like what you're looking for, I suggest reading James Surowiecki's The Wisdom of Crowds and Clay Shirky's Here Comes Everybody.
posted by RichardP at 4:21 AM on January 7, 2013 [1 favorite]

Sorry but I don't agree that TCATB and program design have much to do with each other.

Top Down/Bottom Up are Software Engineering processes and in practice projects typically combine a lot of Top Down as a matter of course with varying degrees of bottom up.