Skip

Teach me about Applied Math
January 1, 2013 1:28 PM   Subscribe

I'm interested in a Masters in Applied Mathematics in the NYC area. Help me research further.

I love dissecting complicated systems and understanding how things work. I am 27 years old, currently working on Wall Street. I have spent a lot of time thinking about graduate school. I am very interested in moving in a different direction. I am interested in pursuing a program that would allow me to further develop my quantitative skills and would be willing to let it lead me where it may. I think that a Masters in Applied Mathematics might be what I am looking for, although I have also thought about perhaps a Masters in Comp Sci or Statistics.

I graduated with a 3.50 GPA in Economics from a top college. My GPA was thrown off by a poor freshman year. I believe excluding my freshman year that my GPA would have been closer to a 3.80. Working against me is the fact that I did not take much math in undergrad. I believe that my only real math courses were two prerequisite semesters of calculus. Additional quantitative courses were Intro to Stats, Econometrics, and what was taught in my upper level econ courses (some exposure to linear algebra, Laplace transforms, etc.). Obviously these courses aren't as rigorous as what would be taught in an undergrad math program.

My questions:

I would like to know how to research this further. I know that graduate schools often like for their students to have diverse backgrounds. However I also know that most programs would require that I have a strong understanding of undergraduate mathematics, which I lack. I'm wondering whether any schools would be willing to admit me on a provisional basis, based upon my ability to make up any prerequisite coursework. Or barring that, I would be interested a learning plan of what courses I would need to take prior to applying.