Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Best bank for travelers?
December 26, 2012 7:41 PM   Subscribe

Best bank for an American traveling Northern, Eastern, and Southern Europe, as well as Russian?

Graduating with my second Bachelor's (this one in Primary/Junior Education) in May. I'm working all summer which will net me about $3,000 to travel. I'm buying a flight August 20th to Amsterdam (cheapest ticket to get to Europe at $300) with little to no plans except countries I'd like to see. I have some money from my Grandmother that I'd also like to use.

What bank is the best for international travelers of Eastern Europe specifically? I will be investing in a Capital One credit card for no international ATM fees, but what base bank should I open a new account in for traveling? Suggestions? I currently have a Bank of America account (debit and visa card linked to that), as well as a savings account with my local bank. I am currently studying in Ontario, so I also currently have a ScotiaBank account since I am an international student.
posted by fuzzysoft to Travel & Transportation (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Charles Schwab does worldwide ATM rebates, but you need to open a brokerage account with them at the same time; something that offers rebates is probably going to work out better than the ATM alliances that BoA has (Barclays, Deutsche Bank, etc.) once you're in eastern Europe.

(Long comments thread here is worth a read.)
posted by holgate at 8:05 PM on December 26, 2012 [1 favorite]

For credit card charges, you're all set with Capital One internationally; that's what I use.