Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Will edit for food
November 29, 2012 4:44 PM   Subscribe

During the past year, I have inadvertently become a freelance editor. I was wondering if any of you have some advice for me about getting disability and extended health insurance (I live in Toronto, Canada so I basically just need to worry about "extras" like dental and vision care, medications, etc.), and if you've got any other tips for me about finding work/promoting myself and managing what is in effect my own business. I've been working as an (in-house) editor for over 18 years, so I'm looking for advice on a more esoteric level than "set up a work schedule and stick to it" and "keep the receipts for your Post-its, because you can claim them at tax time".
posted by orange swan to Work & Money (5 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

....any other tips for me about finding work/promoting myself....

I'll take a stab at this as a freelancer (four years now,yeah!). I don't know if the same things apply across industries, but these are things that worked well for me, you can modify experiment and see if these things work for you. Some of these are probably obvious, so I apologize in advance:

• Do you have specialty niche or niches? If so, LinkedIn is your friend. Set up a detailed profile (list previous projects, jobs, contact info, use the link to go to your web page). Seriously, a lot of work comes in this way, and it takes little to no from your side. Emphasize your specialized niches. When companies have a need, they were search and if they find you (and your web page), it turns into a projects)

• Reach out to your former colleagues, or let them know that you are independent now.

• Get your hand on lists of companies in your industry (google it, LinkedIn, whatever). Send a brief letter of introduction (5 to 10 sentences max) with contact info by email. When they have a fire/immediate need, they will pull from that list.