Skip

Should I stay or should I go?
November 26, 2012 6:14 AM   Subscribe

My work/life balance is unhealthy and out of control for a variety of reasons. Help me figure out if this is fixable, or if I need to cut bait and walk - and if I do, how do I keep from letting this happen next time?

I work in the nonprofit field, which is notorious for being unhealthy in a lot of different ways: comparatively low or inconsistent pay, long work hours, dysfunctional office dynamics, and high levels of stress.

When I was hired, my job seemed fantastic. My job description was fairly clear-cut and manageable, working for an organization that I strongly believed in the achievable mission of. It was a salaried full-time position which also had extremely flexible hours, liberal time off, and the ability to work from home a majority of the time, which really worked well with my scheduling needs. Reasonable disability accomodations were granted with a smile. In exchange for this, however, my irregular hours would often stretch into nights and weekends. My boss was a peer of mine, and he took my suggestions seriously; many of them were implemented.

However, this job wound up producing a pretty constant low-grade level of stress - time at home was never fully relaxing, because I might at any moment have to take a phone call, jump on a videoconference, or leap into work, even late at night. Because it was a nonprofit job where everyone was highly passionate, it was generally taken as a point of pride how little time anyone took off. In addition, because a large portion of my job involved networking, particularly over social media, the job itself began to taint some of my non-job friendships and has damaged them. A majority of my current friends are people I met through working at this job. And it rapidly became something that was impossible to leave "at the office" - a lot of "If this fails, the cause I really love will be lost!" mentality.