Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What should I look for in a telephoto lens that wouldn't cost more than $250?
November 23, 2012 11:50 AM   Subscribe

What should I look for in a telephoto lens that wouldn't cost more than $250?

Asking for my mom: I'm just learning to use my Sony a230 digital SLR camera. I think I want a telephoto lens - I want to be able to take close up photos with blurry backgrounds and close ups of wild life that are taken from a distance. The lens that came with the camera was "3.5-5.6/18-55 SAM" on it. What should I look for in a telephoto lens that wouldn't cost more than $250? Or, am I wasting my money buying a relatively inexpensive lens? Also, would a telephoto lens be useful for landscape photos?
posted by sacrifix to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (6 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

On the lens that you have now the 3.5-5.6 is an indication of the f/stop. In simple terms, the lower f/stop number you find on a lens, the better its ability to separate foreground from background (giving that "close up photos with blurry backgrounds" that you want).

In non-zoom lenses - usually referred to as prime lenses - it's easier to manufacture a lens with a smaller f/stop because there are fewer parts. Both Canon and Nikon have a 50mm f/1.8 lens available for around $100.

When you move into the realm of zoom lenses, however, it gets expensive to manufacture a lens with a low f/stop. Most consumer grade lenses like the one you currently have go no lower than f/3.5.

(side note - the f/3.5-5.6 on your lens is stating the minimum f/stop at each end of your zoom; you can shoot at 18mm f/3.5 (wide angle) or 55mm f/5.6 (zoomed in). At 55mm and f/5.6 you're not going to get good separation of subject and background)