Join 3,495 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me nail a second round interview!
November 5, 2012 10:37 AM   Subscribe

They're flying me in for a second round interview! Help me nail it!

I've been asked to do a second round interview for an engineering position this week. I'm very excited, but I've never done an all day interview before, and this one also includes a dinner the night before (they have 7 hours scheduled, though that includes lunch and a tour of the factory). I know the basics for a first round interview (emphasize your accomplishments, be personable and calm, etc), but how does that apply to something like this? What should I be expecting, and what do I need to have prepared?

Quick side note about clothes. I'm a guy. I'm wearing a suit to the interview day, but the dinner the night before is business casual. I was planning on wearing a button down shirt, no tie, brown sport coat/blazer, dark slacks, and black shoes. Is that fine for the midwest? I'm also wondering how I'm going to bring a suit and my dinner outfit in a carry-on bag without it wrinking.
posted by nickhb to Work & Money (9 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Your outfits sound perfect.

Get a "Suiter" for your carry on. Ask around among your friends to see if anyone has one. Then search You Tube for how to best pack it. Most hotels have irons in the room now, so press if you must. Remember, if it's wool, use a damp towel between the iron and your suit.

Go to Glass Door to see if there are any tips for the all day interview with the company.

Typically this is for "fit", it's not so much about what you know, it's about who you are. Be prepared to talk small talk with folks who may be your co-workers, higher level managers, etc.

They want to see how well you'll interact with the folks on the team. So think more about being personable.

There may be a panel interview or a stress interview, if so Glass Door should clue you in.