Skip

When do I disclose ADHD as a grad school applicant
November 2, 2012 5:54 PM   Subscribe

Disclosing ADHD during the grad school application process: where/when/how?

A decade ago, I ran into a brick wall which school. After a great high school career (nearly straight A's, lots of AP classes, etc), I went to college and completely melted down in the face of material that actually challenged me. I graduated, but only after a series of failing and withdrawing from classes, and left with a 2.6 GPA.

Fast forward to a decade later, I've realized that my struggles were mainly due to serious attention problems (ADHD inattentive type) and the depression that resulted from my failures. I sought treatment and after seeing the results, decided to go back to school. Because I was interested in the medical field at the time (and because I wanted to prove something to myself), I went back to undergrad and am about to receive a 2nd bachelors, I should be graduating summa cum laude with a 4.0 GPA in the spring.

Obviously, the huge discrepancy in my transcripts needs to be explained as I apply to grad schools. I have no idea who I should explain it to. I've never registered with a student with a disability, because medication has made all the difference and I haven't needed accommodations. How/when/to whom do I explain the differences in my GPA? Should I talk about the struggle of overcoming ADHD in my personal statement (because believe me, it was a struggle)?
posted by anonymous to Education (18 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Is there a legal or practical reason why you even have to have the first transcript sent to graduate schools?
posted by parrot_person at 6:16 PM on November 2, 2012