How can I get a video game made?
August 18, 2005 2:38 PM   Subscribe

I have a great idea for a video game. And not just a vague concept either, but specific notes on everything, down to the finest details. I've documented exactly how the game should look and feel, and I've played countless hours of it in my head. I'm not a game programmer, nor do I know any, but I'd like this game to get made (if only so I won't have to keep playing exclusively in my head). I've searched the web, and the general consensus is that I'm pretty much out of luck; video game companies just don't buy game ideas. Am I out of luck? Is this a lost cause?
posted by feaverish to Media & Arts (19 answers total)

Why not find a programmer to make the game for you first. If it's a good game, then you've got something more than just an idea in hand.
posted by gfrobe at 2:45 PM on August 18, 2005

Ideas are magnifiers of effort. So without a game actually developed, the idea is of no real dollar value.

This means that to see the game in real life you either need to develop the game yourself (or hire others to do it), or you need to give away the idea.
posted by wackybrit at 2:48 PM on August 18, 2005

Somewhere online, there's a site that lets you present feature requests to the open-source community, with a dollar value of what you'd be willing to pay for said feature. Other people then contribute monetarily to your feature request, and when someone programs the solution, everyone chips in to pay for it.

I only heard about this from groklaw, and I'm not sure if it was a functional site yet, but maybe this is the way to go?
posted by odinsdream at 2:59 PM on August 18, 2005

What type of game is this? Shooter, role playing, etc? What games exist that are of similar play type? Not necessarily the content of the game, but how the user interacts and what gets shown on the screen.