Join 3,564 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Does anyone remember "U Film"?
October 30, 2012 9:18 AM   Subscribe

Does anyone remember U-Film?

Back in middle school (mid-to-late 1980s; suburbs of New York City), whenever I had to give a presentation in class, I chose as my visual aid a device known as either "U Film," "U-Film," or "You Film." I am now looking for more information on it.

U Film was a do-it-yourself filmstrip: you took a short roll (perhaps 10-25 frames) of blank, white, frosted 35mm filmstrip film, and drew directly on it. You could use colored pencils or markers: the surface took multiple media and colors quite well.

Then, you'd load it into one of those old filmstrip projectors -- the kind that you advanced frame-by-frame -- and the images would be projected onto the screen. When I made U Films, I would have a semi-prepared "lecture" to accompany the images.

I'm a film professor now, and thought I might do a little research into this device, as it intersects with a number of interesting areas of film history.

The terms "U Film" and "You Film" are damnably hard to Google, and I'm having a hard time now researching this near-forgotten piece of educational a/v history.

Does anyone remember U Film? Does anyone know how or where I might find some more information about it? I'm interested in ANYTHING I can find: who manufactured it, where it was used/distributed, any alternate uses it might have had, its general history, even personal anecdotes about it. Anything.

Any MeFite A/V geeks from the 1980s out there?
posted by Dr. Wu to Grab Bag (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I remember it, and Googling tells me it was called a "U-Film Kit" and was made by Hudson Photographic Industries of Irvington, NY.
posted by dilettante at 9:29 AM on October 30, 2012

Trademark
posted by travis08 at 9:35 AM on October 30, 2012