Join 3,513 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Social anxiety?
October 24, 2012 10:49 AM   Subscribe

What is wrong with me? I have trouble talking to people like they are judging me. Then I get nervous and then I beat my self up over it. I see a CBT therapist and he says I just have mild social anxiety. Its like this feeling sometimes I cannot control. Somedays it is better than others. I have been practicing CBT for about three months. I tell myself that I know I am not looking stupid, but I still feel like I am when talking to people. Some days it is not bad at all and on others it is horrible. I am sick of fighting this. My therapist tells me to just let it go, but the feeling is so unnatural I cannot.
posted by Truts83 to Health & Fitness (15 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

The stuff you work on in CBT takes time to kick in, so if you're honestly doing what you should be doing as best you can, you just need to give it time. Your therapist is aware of the problem, and I'm sure they're directing your therapy toward solving it. Have they given you specific strategies to let it go? I mean, "oh just don't let it bug you, period" isn't good therapy so either you're not telling us something, or you may need to get a new therapist.

Also, if this is so bad that it is genuinely impacting your well-being, you may want to look into a psychiatrist. Discuss it with your therapist; there may be a short-term solution to this that will hold you over until you start seeing progress with the CBT.
posted by griphus at 10:58 AM on October 24, 2012

I often have the same thing. I don't think there's a quick fix, you just have to keep reminding yourself that no one thinks about you as much as you do, and that everyone is far too busy worrying about their own shit to care much about yours.
posted by yellowbinder at 10:59 AM on October 24, 2012 [1 favorite]