Join 3,411 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me get my Pfeiffer on?
October 17, 2012 8:48 PM   Subscribe

What short stories and essays and what methods could I use in mentoring incarcerated youth who would like to improve their writing?

I volunteer one-on-one with a teenage incarcerated male and his goal for the end of the 10-week program is to improve his writing w/r/t essays and short stories. I'm a strong writer but that's more intuitive for me, so I'm not really sure how to teach it. I'm currently reading through Beat Not the Poor Desk and mining my former English teachers for ideas.

In order to teach him how to write short stories and essays, I wanted to show him examples of good writing but he seems to be a reluctant reader so what I like and what he likes may differ. He says from what he's read before that he likes what he describes as "hood books" but would be willing to branch into other types of books. He's also interested in chemistry, physics and math--admittedly not my areas of expertise. Suggestions for short literature that resonates strongly with young men are highly appreciated.

We have a one-hour block of time each week to work together so I'd also appreciate ideas for exercises to be completed during that time and exercises to be completed by himself throughout the week. He's very against the idea of writing poetry and other "touchy-feely things" and is also adamantly against free-writing journals.
posted by apophenia to Education (19 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Would short stories by Junot Diaz be appropriate?
posted by availablelight at 8:54 PM on October 17, 2012

Thanks for reminding me, availablelight!