Is this a scam?
October 15, 2012 9:37 AM Subscribe
Is this a scam? I am a wedding photographer and received an email that I have doubts about being legitimate.
The email came via weddingwire.com - a site I am listed with but do not pay to market on. The contents of the email sounded a little scammy, so I wanted to see if anyone may have encountered something similar before I consider persuing the job. The text of the email was this:
"I am XXXX XXXXX, We will need your service as i will be arriving back in the states from Nova Scotia for my wedding.We will be responsible for any expenses incurred in this process. We might not be able to meet soon to deliberate but we are willing to make a reservation for our date ahead of time and make a deposit to ascertain our commitment in hiring your service. Please respond asap. Regards, XXXX XXXXX."
A few of my warning flags are going up because of the distance, the talk of incurring expenses but not being able to meet, and the offer to rush to make a deposit. Am I being paranoid?
posted by rinosaur to computers & internet (9 answers total)
posted by lemniskate at 9:40 AM on October 15, 2012 [17 favorites]