Join 3,413 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Why can't I just stay in Neverland
October 14, 2012 4:30 AM   Subscribe

University was the best experience of my life. Now it's over, and the post-college depression is hitting me hard. How do I navigate the murky depths of the early 20s-crisis?

I graduated this summer with a bachelors and masters, and moved back to my parental home. A month ago I started as an (unpaid) intern at a very high-profile public organisation (e.g. government, NGO, thinktank etc) while also applying for med school for 2013. I get on very well with my parents, who are letting me live rent-free, and have agreed to partially (or fully) finance med school if I get in; if I don't, I also have leads for a potentially good career related to my current internship. Overall, I know I have a lot to be thankful for, and that I have no right to feel unfulfilled or even remotely discontent.

But I feel myself increasingly asking, 'is this it? Is this going to be the baseline for the rest of my life?'. For me, university was life-changing. I had no real friends all through school, partly from being a foreigner in a predominantly white tiny town, and I just thought the superficiality was just what (non-family) human interactions were like. Then, I went to university, and met people I connected at a level I never knew were possible; they really shaped the way I saw myself and about others. I experienced things I never thought I would, made mistakes, and opened my eyes to how diverse life can be. Before graduation, I felt that the world was open to me - that it was full of possibilities, inspiration, and hope for the unknown.