Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Falling Down the Custom ROM Rabbit Hole
October 8, 2012 9:55 AM   Subscribe

I have a rooted Samsung Galaxy S 4g (model t959v) running Gingerbread. I need assistance with learning about custom ROMs, could you point me in the right direction please?

For various reasons I want to install a different ROM on my phone but I'm almost a total noob at this sort of thing. In order to avoid bricking my phone, where would you guys recommend I look for reliable, clear, concise info? The places such as XDA-Developers seem too advanced for me -- what's Nandroid? What's a kernel? So I tried Lifehacker, they recommended I start with Cyanogenmod, but from what I can tell my particular phone model is not supported. Is there a list somewhere of the ROMs that are supported by my phone? I found this but whoa, is it really that complicated, should I just forget it? Mostly I just want to remove all the bloatware that came with my phone. I keep getting notices that my system memory is low. Many thanks in advance.
posted by miaou to Technology (4 answers total)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki/Samsung_Galaxy_S/SGH-T959V/List_of_ROMs is the definitive list with instructions for all. Custom ROMs are not for the faint of heart. From what I understand you can have one installed for $25 or so check on Craig's List.
posted by pdxpogo at 10:21 AM on October 8, 2012

Hmm. They're working on CM10 nightlies for this device so there is some nominal support.

I'm running CM7.2 on my Galaxy S Vibrant (the T-Mobile USA varient) after running some other custom ROM. For me, it wasn't bloatware that was the problem; it was the stupid, stupid, low performance filesystem used by Samsung, which made everything painfully/uselessly slow. I will switch go CM10 when it becomes stable, though a new Nexus phone coming out sooner rather than later will rule out that upgrade.