Skip

Tell me what to believe!
October 3, 2012 6:31 AM   Subscribe

What’s the best, scientifically-supported mindset for success, resilience, confidence, and rebounding from stress and failure?

Specific details:

I’m a freshman at a top college, taking a couple of hard classes. These classes are in the STEM field, and I’m female. I love the topics, but I’ve become interested in these topics relatively recently (2 years ago), so I haven’t had as much experience in high school as many other students have. I try to stay positive and concentrate on my love of the topics and my future goals, but sometimes I have to deal with negativity and self-defeat.

For example, if I do badly on a test, I instinctively think, “Why am I so bad at X? Why am I so stupid?” though I consciously know that the correct gut reaction should be “This is a one-time problem; I’ve had much less practice and background than others in this class; I’ve learned a lot; I’ll work harder and do better in the long run, especially if I stay move on and positive.”

It’s hard for me to see past the fact that sometimes I’m in the bottom half of the class, and realize that sometimes I’m in the top half of the class, and that I’ve been doing extraordinarily well given how recently I’ve started learning. It’s also hard for me not to get jealous and judgmental when I see people who seem naturally good at something. I keep forgetting that it takes a lot of time, hard work, and practice.

Scientific examples:

- Dweck’s research on praise and intelligence. It’s better to believe in hard work and love of solving problems, instead of believing that your performance is intrinsically determined by intelligence or genius.