Join 3,554 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How much should I sell my website for?
September 30, 2012 5:03 PM   Subscribe

How much should I sell my website for?

Someone has offered to buy one of my domain names. I'm brand new to negotiating. Let me mention a few things about my site. I haven't bought webhosting. There's nothing on it but GoDaddy advertising. I don't plan to use the site anymore since I found a better domain name. I've only had it for three months. The domain name doesn't sound very appealing to me and I'm not sure how the buyer would use it. A GoDaddy appraisal tells me the site is worth between $573.00 - $1,337. Does that sound right?

From reading other sites, I know I should have the buyer make the first offer and negotiate from there. But if he offers something well below the appraisal like $100, should I try to work with that?
posted by JamesAtMidnight to Computers & Internet (18 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

There's no way for anyone here to tell you whether this "appraisal" is legitimate without knowing what your domain name is.

Anyway, if someone is interested, tell him to make an offer. If you like it, take it. If you don't, counter with a different offer. If he's interested, he'll bite.
posted by dfriedman at 5:11 PM on September 30, 2012 [2 favorites]

What's the domain name? The value is entirely based on what your time is worth, what the buyer perceives to be the value and each of your negotiating skills.

Without know the domain, I'll take a blind guess that you'd be lucky to see $400 for it.
posted by michaelh at 5:17 PM on September 30, 2012 [2 favorites]

Well, you don't have a site, you have a domain name. Ask the person how much they'd like to offer and see what they say.