Join 3,551 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me find ways to grow professionally.
September 19, 2012 8:11 AM   Subscribe

I'm a general purpose Analyst at my job. I work in the marketing department, and do the bulk of my analysis on client development initiatives, but also am the sole source of analytical support on the operations of the department, like budgeting, managing people, business planning, etc. What would be some good opportunities for professional development?

My goal, which has become much clearer over the last few months, is to work toward an Operations position -- the idea of being a COO one day definitely appeals to me (the operations side interests me much more than the strict client development side). That being said, I see the value in being well-versed about our clients while having a strong operational foundation.

I'm 28, and pretty much an island in a very large corporation, so I have a lot of leeway and have risen up the ranks relatively quickly (mostly making up new titles and responsibilities as I go along). It's now time to really turn it on, and I'm looking for conferences, networking events, online resources, etc. that I can point to as ways to, well, develop professionally.

For what it's worth, I'm in the legal industry, but would be very open to any events and conferences that lack an industry focus, as I believe the operations and general data analysis skills cut across industries quite well.
posted by undercoverhuwaaah to Work & Money (5 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

What's your educational background?
posted by downing street memo at 9:00 AM on September 19, 2012