Skip

Is It Possible To Prove I Have A BA Without Submitting My Erratic College Transcript?
September 17, 2012 9:01 AM   Subscribe

I'm applying to sit for a professional certification exam. Part of the application requires me to submit a list of schools I have attended, along with confirmation of my attendance and diploma or degree earned. What should I submit to confirm my attendance/diploma/degree? (a bit long, bear with me)

I suppose the easy answer here is transcripts. However, my college transcript kind of embarrasses me. I did very well in classes related to my major, but I was mediocre (and in a couple of cases downright terrible) in the classes I took outside my major. The result is a transcript that looks awful, to me, and while my major GPA is strong, my overall GPA is pretty shoddy due to being weighed down by the classes I didn't do well in.

It's been 5 years since I graduated college and it's not like any of my jobs have ever remotely asked or even cared about my GPA/transcript, but I'm a little hesitant to provide evidence of my erratic performance in college to a governing body that will decide whether or not I'm fit to sit for this exam. I am more than qualified for the exam based purely on my professional career, and my colleagues have nothing but positive things to say about me should they be contacted as a reference, but I reviewed my college transcript last night and am worried that it's bad enough that it might cast doubt on my general aptitude. So I am reluctant to submit it as proof of my attendance/degree unless there are absolutely no other options.