Join 3,417 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Next steps after quitting an okay job!
September 7, 2012 6:59 AM   Subscribe

I'm trying not to freak out. I just quit an okay job. What to do?

I got a job about a month ago; a position that is not in my field, and was monotonous, and pays minimum wage ($10.50; I hear anything below $12 is MW) but was a regular paycheck. Good people, benefits were about to kick in, but I was dissatisfied and sort of felt that I could do better. I am also a full time student and felt that the job was eating into my school time as well as my spiritual life - I have not prayed properly in ages or even kept my house immaculate because there's just no time. I also would like a job that is more connected to my field. There were no opportunities for growth, and the company does not recognize the good work of its employees ( for instance, the lady who was training me had trained 3 other people who then went on to supervise her).

Anyway, I quit yesterday, and there's no turning back. I don't feel particularly terrified, but everyone around me is freaking out and I'm wondering if I'm too much at peace. Just hearing people's opinions in the past 24 hours has caused me to wonder if I am not a failure (I actually felt like more of a failure in that job). Also, I've quit prior jobs because of dissatisfaction and it has never turned out to be particularly horrible... stuff always seems to work out.

1) What would you recommend as my next steps?
2) How can I go about sticking it out at a job I dislike; is this even the right thing to do?
3) Is it THAT crazy to quit a job out of dissatisfaction? Yes, I know the economy is crazy right now but does it make more sense to hang in there and be miserable for a check?
4) A good friend credits this "trend" to PMS... (LOL!) Could this be a possibility, and what would I be able to do about it?

Merci!