Tags:

How can I become a less light sleeper?
September 2, 2012 5:54 PM   Subscribe

I have always been a light sleeper. I want to become a less light sleeper. Is this possible? How?

I need to get better sleep! I am such a light sleeper that it seems anything wakes me up---I have gotten used to the noises my bedmate makes, but when he tosses and turns, the bed feels like it vibrates, and I wake up numerous times a night from that. I also sleep on my side and lately have been finding that my fingers get numb after about two hours (this never happened before) and THAT wakes me up. Sirens outside, noises in the apartment hallway, you name it.

My bedmate has some allergy issues this summer and we had a few sleepless nights where he was up (and therefore so was I!) I wasn't working for the summer (I am a teacher), so I got accustomed to going back to bed after he left for work. But now school is starting again and I can't do that. I am terrified I am going to be living in a constant state of sleep deprivation. Isn't there anything I can do? I want to learn to be a less light sleeper. Is this possible? How?
posted by JoannaC to Health & Fitness (19 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

A lot of sleep depth is related to the environment; do you have a dark, cool room for starters? Do you share covers with an active partner? You may want to try your own separate comforter.

You could try one of those eye masks and ear plugs to prevent you from hearing any of those noises or seeing any lights. I do both and I sleep like a baby. White noise helps some people too.

You could also invest in a larger bed; I have found myself in a king sized bed with two other people before and didn't even realize they were there once I was asleep.

Additionally, you could try melatonin to see if it helps you stay asleep once you are. I didn't see a lot of effect myself, but you might.