Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Customer Service Rep Bored With Routine
August 26, 2012 6:18 PM   Subscribe

What can I do to make my job as a customer service representative more enjoyable?

I work as a customer service representative for a claims manager company. I talk on the phone for the ENTIRE shift and I've been working at this company for two years which makes me feel like I've reached my cap for working here. I cringe every single time I hear the phone beep and dread going to work, but I like the people that I work with and I'm a social person so this type of job gives me what I need in that aspect. The job also has a few other perks like making more than minimum wage, being open 24/7 so I can work the shifts around my school schedule, and the friendships that I have made.

But, I can't get over how much I hate the process of taking claims for clients even if I enjoy helping them and conversing with them.

What I dislike is the routine process that's involved in collecting details during the claims intake process. It's always the same steps and same questions that I have to ask or the same questions that I have to answer.

I receive high quality assessments and do my job well, but lately I feel like my lack of enjoyment is affecting my job performance. I need to at least get through working here until August 2013 since that's when I'll be moving elsewhere. A job like this (a job that pays well and is in a prime location) is really hard to come by in the small city that I live in so quitting is not much of an option although I'm considering it...

But, I would ultimately like answers for how I can make my job more enjoyable so that I can get through this year.

Thanks!
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (14 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Is it possible to take a week or two off?

Sometimes taking a little time off can do wonders.
posted by it's a long way to south america at 6:44 PM on August 26, 2012