Join 3,496 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Like me, only better.
August 24, 2012 6:17 PM   Subscribe

I want to make a fake dating profile to do research. Is this unethical?

I am a writer and I am writing a story right now that has some discussion about online dating and dating in general. After hearing a friend talk about online dating**I was curious to see who was on there, how people respond, etc. I then thought I might set up a profile to see how men respond to a particular character type.

I am married and I'm also a highly visible member of the community I live in (which is somewhat small). Obviously, I can't be on the site (or my photo can't). I was playing with the idea of setting up a fake profile with a stock photo. Is this unethical (I realize this is part of a larger question as to the ethics of immersive nonfiction, so lay that on me as well)? I could, after the initial contact, tell these men that I'm doing research. I'm most interested in how men would respond to, again, a particular type of woman which makes asking to look at someone else's profile more difficult.

**No, I can't ask this friend to let me see her profile because she has since stopped using the site and is a different personality from the profile I'd want to use for trolling.
posted by mrfuga0 to Media & Arts (43 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

If you think that lying to people and fucking with their emotions is unethical, then yes, this is unethical.
posted by elizardbits at 6:19 PM on August 24, 2012 [51 favorites]

No, but if your husband find out, you might have some 'splaining to do.
posted by lalala1234 at 6:20 PM on August 24, 2012

If you were a university researcher, the ethics board would say it is unethical to deceive like this.
posted by k8t at 6:20 PM on August 24, 2012 [14 favorites]

I once saw a reporter do this, but she used a real photo and disclosed that she was doing research and wanted to talk to people about their dating experiences.