Join 3,424 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tips for interviewing with a crisis hotline
August 13, 2012 10:42 AM   Subscribe

What are some great tips for interviewing for a crisis hotline?

I'm interviewing for a crisis/suicide hotline volunteer position in a couple of weeks. I have no experience but I do have a degree in psychology and I have a keen interest in suicide so I know some facts, stats, etc. I'm usually horrible at interviewing but know I am better when I thoroughly prepared, so I know practice makes perfect and all that jazz. What kinds of questions do they ask? What would they like to hear? I know there is intense training involved so I doubt they would expect me to know what exactly to do in every situation beforehand.
posted by A 90s Kind of Guy to Grab Bag (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Have you read A Slender Thread, by Diane Ackerman? I'm sure there are better and less poetic resources out there, but it might be a good read for you to get in the mindset (without being bombarded with statistics and gruesome images).
posted by Madamina at 10:49 AM on August 13, 2012

I did the training and worked on a hotline for nine months...PM me if you want some more info, I don't want to reveal everything here.

I think the people that were successful demonstrated a commitment to wanting to learn the hotline's techniques (ie not coming in and acting like they knew everything already) and also were open about their personal experiences with mental illness/addiction/depression, either about themselves or involving family/friends.

And yes, the training is very intense!
posted by sweetkid at 10:58 AM on August 13, 2012 [1 favorite]