How do I stop my tongue being so gross?
August 10, 2012 9:00 PM   Subscribe

My tongue is white and cracked. How do I stop it being so gross?

My tongue has a crack down the middle, from the back about two thirds of the way to the front. It is about 2 millimetres wide and deep. Any information I've been able to find about cracked tongues refers to small fissure-like cracks all over the tongue surface, this is defnintely something different.

Also, my tongue is white. This extends about 1cm in each direction from the crack, gradually changing to a faint pink colour at the front and sides of my tongue.

I have been using a tongue scraper for several months, and this has reduced the amount of white stuff, and also made the crack seem less deep. The scraper did everything it was supposed to, including 're-awakening' my tastebuds and giving my mouth a much sweeter taste. I still use it, but don't want to scrape any harder and risk doing any damage to my tongue.

As far as I know, my breath is normal. I eat pretty well, including a variety of fruits and vegetables, but maybe I'm missing some vital nutrients. I am a lady if that matters. I'm not sure how long my tongue has been like this... at least a couple of years, I can't remember before that. I floss and clean my teeth regularly, and sometimes go through phases of using mouthwash for a couple of months then stop. I haven't been licking anything out of the ordinary.
posted by peppermintfreddo to Health & Fitness (15 answers total)

Is it possible you have thrush? Perhaps you should see a doctor.
posted by daisystomper at 9:09 PM on August 10, 2012 [5 favorites]

Oral thrush maybe? It would be unusual in an otherwise healthy adult, but the white tongue made me think of that immediately.
posted by chiababe at 9:10 PM on August 10, 2012

This is a question for a doctor who can look in your mouth and maybe make a culture of whatever is on your tongue.