How old is too old?
July 26, 2012 3:37 PM   Subscribe

Sick of everything and want change is 42 too late in life?

My youngest child just graduated high school, I have a 2010 Bachelor's degree in Information/Libray Science I haven't used and I hate my current job. As the kid's were growing up I had to work full time as a single parent, I received my bachelor degree with intent on going for an MLIS/archival science degree and moving to NYC, my goal job would to be to work at the World Trade Center Museum. Well grad school is ridiculously overpriced, how the hell do you move to NYC, and I think I'm too old to start over (I think employer's like the younger crowd). I have a house and I hate my current job, what to do? Anyone ever been through this...I have a dream but I'm pretty sure it is too late for me to get the right experience in archival work....I really am stuck. How do people change? Any thoughts on life?
posted by irish01 to Human Relations (35 answers total) 45 users marked this as a favorite

Well, I am 61 and in many many ways, life is great. I am healthy, and just about to retire. The job I am retiring from, I got at 39 or 40, and it has been challenging but very fulfilling.

So, as the chiche goes, every journey begins with the first step. But if you take that, and then another and another (It will be very hard to keep taking steps), by the time you are 61 you will be in a better place that you might like more.

As for the practical part of moving to NYC, I have no advice for you there other than knowing that lots of people have moved there and some have thrived.

Good luck!
posted by Danf at 3:42 PM on July 26, 2012 [5 favorites]

My husband, after working freelance since he was 23, took a corporate job at 57. It was a hard transition, but we work together to make it happen. Patience and a willingness to go with the flow help a lot.
posted by roomthreeseventeen at 3:44 PM on July 26, 2012