Skip

Small Business 101
July 25, 2012 11:24 AM   Subscribe

Today's fantasy: buying the small business my husband works for. Talk me through the steps like I'm a 5-year-old.

My husband & I are thinking of buying the small business he works for. He's worked there for 10 years. We're novices, have never owned a business and neither of us have a business background (though I'm a high-level communications person by trade). My husband is an expert in his field and is third-in-command at the business.

This is just a what-if idea right now. We wouldn't purchase for a few years. The owner is open and willing to sell. The business offers luxury items/services, but is in a prosperous area and has generally done well.

We're believers in research, working with people who do have backgrounds in this (including lawyers) and we're both realistic about finances and our time. Neither of us are married to this idea; we just think it's an interesting path to consider.

We have some capital to put into this and will have more in a few years. We're in our 30s with no kids (and don't plan to have kids.) We own our home, our cars and make about $100k combined. The business is in a wealthy suburb of Minneapolis, MN.

Metafilter, talk to me like I'm a 5-year-old here. What are my must-read/watch/heed small business 101 resources? Did you buy a small business? What do you wish you'd known? If I have two years to really do this right, what should I focus on and when?

What obstacles will I face? (While I appreciate that there will be the "don't do this, are you kidding" answers, I'm not looking to be waved away right now as this is just a fantasy at this point. I am, however, interested in obstacles and proposed solutions.)

Trust I'll be reading everything I can get my hands on, but I'm interested in anecdotes, tips and advice from my favorite community. I'm truly a novice (and so is my husband), so be gentle. Thanks!