Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Strategic vagabonding
July 5, 2012 7:45 PM   Subscribe

Another help-the-20-something-find-life-direction-question. Specific angle: international travel

Optional Special Snowflake Background

I graduated college in 2011 with a lib arts BA, for the past year I've been working in AmeriCorps but that will be coming to an end in September. At that point, I'll have around $4000 in savings and a few thousand in student loan debt.

I have been applying to jobs over the past month and haven't gotten too much response-- not that I've really been trying as hard as I could be but it is still discouraging. All of my jobs and internships and whatnot (a fairly considerable amount for someone my age) have been working with kids, which I like but is starting to feel like it might be a dead end career-wise. I'd be really happy working for an interesting nonprofit doing youth development, but am less enthusiastic about childcare. My work experience is a little of both of these, though lots of the first. (However, currently my job has turned into camp instructor to 15 obnoxious 5-6 year-olds-- herein lies the basis of my current career crisis!)

I'm also sort of in between places-- my family is in the midwest, I moved to the east coast a year ago for this job but the job prospects aren't particularly great here and there's nothing tying me here really, so I'm considering relocating back to the general region where my family is because I have missed being near to them. (My parents live in a tiny town with no jobs 100 miles away from anywhere I actually want to live so if I did relocate back to the midwest it would be more or less the same amount of work and commitment as it would be to move to anywhere else in the US, not just an easy boomerang back home.)

Actual Question