Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Seeking an iPhone app that circumvents call logs. I'd like privacy when using a work issued iPhone. Does such an app/service exist?
July 3, 2012 3:46 PM   Subscribe

Seeking an iPhone app that circumvents call logs. I'd like privacy when using a work issued iPhone. Does such an app/service exist?

I've been offered a phone at work and I'm tempted to take it as it would save me money, I'm very dissatisfied with my current carrier, and generally I need something robust and reliable for some of the on-call duties I perform. However, I get quite a few personal texts and phone calls and I'm not interested in anyone at my company being privy to any of that information. Initially I though GoogleVoice (which I use regularly, and yes I'm aware of the privacy issues there) would be an option but found that even on my private bill the call logs are recorded as the calling number. I'm just beginning to consider SendHub and I'm sure there are more. So my question to you is whether there is an app that is designed for just this. I would be willing to pay a monthly fee for this. I would like the app and overall process to be generally failsafe and robust.
posted by ezekieldas to Technology (10 answers total)

I think if there are things you want to use a phone for that you don't want The Man to know about, a personal cell phone is a wise investment. Since the calls are logged by the carrier, not the instrument, I'm not sure how you're going to anonymize the data to a bulletproof standard.
posted by randomkeystrike at 3:52 PM on July 3, 2012 [3 favorites]

Previously.
posted by telegraph at 3:53 PM on July 3, 2012

Not looking for complete anonymity but a means of forwarding the call from another provider. I think Google Voice can be configured this way but I've not examined that closely. Also, I'd ultimately like to move away from Google Voice.
posted by ezekieldas at 3:56 PM on July 3, 2012