Skip

How can I obtain UK car insurance (just for a couple of weeks) with a US license
July 3, 2012 7:28 AM   Subscribe

How can I obtain UK car insurance (just for a couple of weeks) with a US license while traveling.

So I'm headed off home to England at the end of the week and I'm trying to get insured to drive my Dads car but it's proving a bit difficult because I'm a non resident and have misplaced my UK drivers license (I haven't lived there in about 16 yrs)

Any ideas MeFites?
posted by zeoslap to Travel & Transportation around England (18 answers total)

Your dad presumably has insurance for the vehicle. That insurance will presumably cover you, as insurance follows vehicles, not drivers. The policy is primarily insuring your dad's car, and only secondarily insuring your dad as such. I'm in the US, but this is just how auto policies work, and I'd be shocked if it were different over there.

Your dad might want to call his insurance agent to be sure that everything is on the up-and-up, but I can't see why this should be a problem.
posted by valkyryn at 7:34 AM on July 3, 2012

Your UK license may have actually expired and need renewing anyway.

However, you should be able to get insurance if you get an international driving license. You can drive legally in the UK for 12 months. Because your dad is a resident, some of the restrictions about having a valid licence *and* being a resident should not matter as you'll just be a named driver.
posted by MuffinMan at 7:35 AM on July 3, 2012

Your dad's insurance almost certainly won't cover you, but it is trivial to add you as a named driver to his policy for the time you are over. It'll just take a phone call, and shouldn't be too expensive.
posted by ComfySofa at 7:44 AM on July 3, 2012